Sec. Johnson Appoints April Danos to National Maritime Security Advisory Committee

(GALLIANO, LA) – April Danos, Director of Information Technology for the Greater Lafourche Port Commission, has been appointed by Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson to the National Maritime Security Advisory Committee (NMSAC) for a 3 year term.

Comprised of members representing all segments of the maritime industry, the National Maritime Security Advisory Committee (NMSAC) provides advice to the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security via the Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard on matters such as national security strategy and policy, actions required to meet current and future security threats, international cooperation on security issues, and security concerns of the maritime transportation industry. The committee also works with representatives of the U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, FEMA and the Transportation Security Administration as well as other federal agencies.

Danos is a nationally recognized expert in information technology systems and port security projects. She has chaired the IT Committee of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) and currently serves as the AAPA Cybersecurity Subcommittee chair, often speaking to ports, federal agencies, and port security authorities on how to build and implement resilient maritime cybersecurity standards and practices. Danos will serve her term as a NMSAC member through December 31, 2018.