Port Commission Elects New Officers

(GALLIANO, LA) – At the February 10, 2010, Greater Lafourche Port Commission Board Meeting, the Commission elected its executive officers, who will serve in their newly elected positions for three years. The Board elected Larry Griffin as President, Jimmy Lafont as Vice President, Wilbert Collins as Secretary, and Johnny Melancon, Sr. as Treasurer.

Port Commission President Larry Griffin said, “I am grateful that my fellow commissioners have the confidence in me to re-elect me as president for the next three years.” Griffin has served as president for the last three years and has been a commissioner for the past seventeen years.

Griffin, Collins, and Melancon retained their offices, and Jimmy Lafont replaces Donald Vizier as vice president for the remaining three years of this board’s tenure. Wilbert Collins has served as the commission’s secretary for the last three years and has been a commissioner for ten years. Johnny Melancon, Sr. has been a commissioner for fifteen years and has been treasurer for the last six.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve as Port Commission Vice President and will work hard to serve the port,” said Jimmy Lafont, who has served as a commissioner for nine years, including a previous term as vice president of the board.

The Port Commissioners are elected for six-year terms by the citizens of the 10th ward of Lafourche Parish. The executive board’s officers are nominated and elected by the board of commissioners every three years.