Port Commission Appoints Interim Commissioner, Fills Vacancy


(FOURCHON, LA) – In a special meeting, the members of the Greater Lafourche Port Commission voted to appoint a replacement to fill the vacancy created by the September 19th resignation of Mr. Donald Vizier due to health reasons.

By a vote of 5 to 2, the Commission voted to appoint Mr. Ted Savoie as the interim commissioner for Seat D until a special election to permanently fill the seat can be held on March 5, 2016.

Mr. Savoie, 72, of Larose, comes to the board with over 50 years’ experience in the marine towing business. “We are looking forward to Mr. Savoie bringing his experience in the oil and gas services industry to benefit the Port Commission as we continue to execute our ambitious expansion plans,” said Executive Director Chett Chiasson.

Port commissioners are elected to six-year terms and serve the community of the Tenth Ward of Lafourche Parish at large. The Tenth Ward is comprised of the area of Lafourche Parish south of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway to the Gulf of Mexico.

“Port commissioners are elected by the people of the Tenth Ward, but our port and our airport serve as the biggest economic engine in the southeast part of the state, providing thousands of jobs to our residents and the region servicing our nation’s energy industry. It’s a big responsibility, and we are very happy to see Mr. Savoie step up and help us serve our community and our country,” said Board President Perry Gisclair.

Mr. Vizier had served for 26 years as the member for Seat D, having been elected for five terms as Port Commissioner by the people of the Tenth Ward of Lafourche Parish before his resignation.

“While I was sad to see Mr. Vizier resign, I am grateful for his contributions to our economy and our community, and I am humbled by the opportunity to serve this community as a member of the Port Commission,” said Mr. Savoie.

Mr. Savoie was sworn in as a commissioner after he was voted onto the board and will remain the commissioner for Seat D until the winner of the special election is certified next spring.