Newly Elected Port Commission Board Sworn In

boardswearingin(GALLIANO, LA) – In a January 9, 2013 ceremony, the newly elected Greater Lafourche Port Commission (GLPC) board members were sworn in for the 2013-2018 term. The nine-member board serves the 10th Ward of Lafourche Parish and has jurisdiction over Port Fourchon and the South Lafourche Airport. The Greater Lafourche Port Commission is the only elected port commission in the state of Louisiana.

GLPC Board Members include: Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie, Jr., Seat A; Perry Gisclair, Seat B; Kris Gaudet, Seat C; Donald Vizier, Seat D; Wilbert Collins, Sr., Seat E; Larry Griffin, Seat F; John Melancon, Jr., Seat G; Jimmy Guidry, Seat H; and Ervin Bruce, Seat I. Commissioners are elected to at-large seats and serve six-year terms.
Port Director Chett Chiasson said, “I am delighted to welcome the 2013-2018 board. Our port commission brings to the table experience in many fields and a true desire to make thoughtful decisions that best benefit our port and our community. We’re ready to get to work!”

Larry Griffin, who has served on the GLPC board since 1992 and as Board President for the past six years, agrees. “Our people elect us to the port commission because we have lived here all our lives and we’re not afraid of hard work. We are all happy to see our port and airport growing, and our board plans to continue creating opportunities for that kind of success into the future.”

The Greater Lafourche Port Commission, a political subdivision of the state of Louisiana, facilitates the economic growth of the communities in which it operates by maximizing the flow of trade and commerce. We do this to grow our economy and preserve our environment and heritage. The Port Commission exercises jurisdiction over the Tenth Ward of Lafourche Parish, south of the Intracoastal Waterway, including Port Fourchon and South Lafourche Leonard Miller, Jr. Airport.